RESOURCE: African Union of the Blind Web Site

Posted on 22 March 2008. Filed under: Blind, Democratic Participation, Health, HIV/AIDS, Inclusion, Resources, Sub-Saharan Africa Region, youth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Individuals who share an interest in the self-empowerment of blind people in Africa can turn to the African Union of the Blind (AFUB) web site for a range of information, publications, and helpful resources. The materials at this site will be particularly for people with an interest in HIV/AIDS; women; and youth.

The AFUB website is meant to mobilize, empower, and disseminate information for individuals and organizations supporting people with visual impairments across Africa. AFUB is a pan-African umbrella non-government organization (NGO).

On the page for AFUB publications, readers may download past issues of AFUB news in English or French. Issues of the news letter, Women’s Voices, contain a range of news, advice for independent living, and advocacy tips related to blind African women. Or readers may download manuals on training HIV/AIDS trainers; including blind people in HIV/AIDS education programs; training blind people to advocate and lobby for their rights at the local and national level; and empowering visually impaired youth. Some of these manuals could probably be usefully adapted for use outside of Africa as well.

On the projects page, people may learn about AFUB’s HIV and AIDS Awareness and Training Project; its Gender And Youth Development; and its National Civic Education Program.

The Reports and Policy page offers copies of AFUB’s annual reports and many reports from AFUB’s various training activities and other projects, particularly in the areas of HIV/AIDS awareness and in gender and youth development.

Or, download reports from
past conferences
on HIV/AIDS and on Democracy and Development training.

Begin exploring AFUB’s web site from their home page at:

http://www.afub-uafa.org



We Can Do first found the AFUB web site through the AskSource.info database. Further
details about its contents were found by exploring the AFUB web site
itself. I especially encourage the AFUB
publications
page for anyone seeking pragmatic materials they can use
in the field.

Subscribe to We Can Do
Learn how to receive an email alert when new material is posted at We Can Do (wecando.wordpress.com).

We Can Do Copyright
This blog post is copyrighted to We Can Do (wecando.wordpress.com). Currently, only two web sites have on-going permission to syndicate (re-post) We Can Do blog posts in full: BlogAfrica.com and www.RatifyNow.org. Other sites are most likely plagiarizing this post without permission.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

21 Responses to “RESOURCE: African Union of the Blind Web Site”

RSS Feed for We Can Do Comments RSS Feed

nice to read it .. this is a very interesting and valuable program ….

Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and
I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Great goods from you, man. I have take into account your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great.
I actually like what you have bought right here, really like what you are stating and
the best way by which you assert it. You make it entertaining and
you still care for to stay it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

This is actually a terrific site.

What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge about
unpredicted feelings.

It is truly a nice and helpful piece of info.
I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Great blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days.
I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Hi to every one, as I am genuinely keen of reading this web site’s post to be updated daily.
It contains good material.

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Hi there to all, the contents existing at this website
are actually remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the
good work fellows.

If you desire to improve your knowledge just
keep visiting this web site and be updated with the hottest information posted here.

Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I
am waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
and wanted to say that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts.
After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog loading?

I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

If you would like to obtain a great deal from this
article then you have to apply these methods to your won webpage.

What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this
web site, and paragraph is actually fruitful in support of me,
keep up posting these posts.

o Penile exercises like jelqing or even holding out in erections in a straightened position may also
help. Many males are not happy with the size of their personal organ. PXXL is one of the most effective means for permanent penis enlargement and control premature ejaculation.

I read this post fully about the resemblance of latest and
earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this web page who has
shared this wonderful paragraph at at this place.

Rick M AusickWell, we’ve carried shoe stores near 61820 too much space do you
know if you are looking at available options. The other portion of
the classic tshirt-and-jeans combo, but use the term shoes covers a decent thought of motion.

I got this website from my pal who informed me concerning this website
and now this time I am browsing this web site and reading very informative articles
at this time.

Greetings I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I
am here now and would just like to say thank you for
a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS
feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
do keep up the superb work.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Ending poverty among and oppression toward disabled people in developing countries.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Help the U.S. Ratify the Disability Treaty!

    Image of an hour glass overlaid on image of the Capitol building in DC. Text says, "Time is running out! Now is the time for the Senate to Act! Ratify the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities! www.disabilitytreaty.org #CRPD

    Learn why the CRPD matters and how to take action at www.disabilitytreaty.org!

  • Subscribe!

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Translate!

  • Connect to Andrea Shettle via Linked In

  • Archives

  • Topic Categories

  • Make WeCanDo Your “Favorite”

  • Stumble Upon It!

    Stumble It! Share this blog with other readers via "Stumble Upon"!
  • Follow We Can Do in Facebook!

  • We Can Do is in the GDRL!

  • Blog Stats

    • 709,473 hits
  • Map of Visitors

    Map
  • Meta

  • Facebook Networked Blogs

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

