Accessibility CONFERENCE: Techshare India 2008

Posted on 18 December 2007. Filed under: Announcements, Cross-Disability, Events and Conferences, Inclusion, South Asian Region, technology | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

The Techshare India 2008 Conference titled “Breaking the Barriers” is a conference and exhibition on accessibility targeted at people with disabilities, the corporate and government sectors, non-government organizations (NGOs), educators, and product producers. The conference will be held February 4 and 5, 2008, at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.

The conference is meant to allow participants to share insights and knowledge; network with professionals in the field from around the world; and meet people with disabilities working with assistive technology at the first known Experiential Lab at Techshare India. This is a pan-disability (i.e., all disabilities) conference and exhibition aimed at addressing barriers present in the mindset of people; infrastructure; education; and technology. The goal is to break down barriers and include people with disabilities into mainstream society.

To learn more, please go to http://www.barrierbreak.com/conferenceregistration.php

Need funding to attend conferences like this one? Be aware that available funding will be limited and cannot help everyone. Each funding source has its own criteria for determining who is or isn’t eligible for possible funding and for what purposes, so read carefully. Information at https://wecando.wordpress.com/2007/11/29/funding-for-conference-participation-from-developing-nations/



We Can Do learned about this conference via the free, weekly electronic newsletter from Disabled People International (DPI).



Learn how to receive an email alert when new material is posted at We Can Do.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Accessibility CONFERENCE: Techshare India 2008”

RSS Feed for We Can Do Comments RSS Feed

I Think the conference is Great !

Andrea,

Timely post. I may be able to route a return flight to catch this!

Hello friends,

I am working with deaf in Pakistan, I would like to attend the conference.

What would be the please let me know.

Rock Walter

I am Deepak Nepali, my family background is really weak though my parents couldn’t afford for my heart surgery their warm love hardly managed money for my heart surgery.
It was after my school level graduation that my parents  took me to the hospital for my heart surgery as I had problem in my heart. Though, I had problem in my heart I was okay before heart surgery but after the surgery I experienced the worst part of my life that after next 7 days of my surgery I couldn’t move my hands and legs.

I thought this is just because of the weakness of the surgery but day by day my limbs weren’t moving at all and finally I am disable now. I can’t speak can’t move but I believe it is just for few days cause I have been told I will be fine very soon. My lovely family wanted me to be fit and fine so they wanted my heart surgery be done unfortunately I no more can move and speak to them.

I am a young boy and I want to speak and move like before but I need to attain the next surgery. I am very thankful to my parents and all those who supported me for the surgery and now the ones who helped me are extremely weak to support for my next surgery so I am in need of someone who can understand what me and my family is going through now.
My physics is  going to be paralyzed soon but my brain will get much stress thinking that my parents will be paralyzed seeing me in such way.

My life is in big hearted  people’s hand, please help me for forther treatment, doctor said it costs 5-6 thousand dollar.
I had read about NGO’S and INGOS in social book so please help me get a new life once again, I assure you I will work for the disables and helpless people in future.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Ending poverty among and oppression toward disabled people in developing countries.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • The Mwanza Computer Literacy Project

    The Mwanza Computer Literacy Project

    The Tusaidiane Disabilities Resources and Charity Organization of Tanzania (TDRCT) would like to improve computer literacy and self-employment opportunities for people with disabilities in Mwanza, Tanzania, and promote their empowerment.

    This organization is run by people who themselves have disabilities. I have known the man who founded this organization for some years. If his organization can quickly raise $5000 from 40 donors within a few days, then GlobalGiving will feature their organization on its website. This will enable them to attract more prospective funders. I have made a donation to them, I hope others will consider doing the same.
    Give Now


    Site Meter

  • Help the U.S. Ratify the Disability Treaty!

    Image of an hour glass overlaid on image of the Capitol building in DC. Text says, "Time is running out! Now is the time for the Senate to Act! Ratify the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities! www.disabilitytreaty.org #CRPD

    Learn why the CRPD matters and how to take action at www.disabilitytreaty.org!

  • Subscribe!

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Translate!

  • Connect to Andrea Shettle via Linked In

  • Archives

  • Topic Categories

  • Make WeCanDo Your “Favorite”

  • Stumble Upon It!

    Stumble It! Share this blog with other readers via "Stumble Upon"!
  • Follow We Can Do in Facebook!

  • We Can Do is in the GDRL!

  • Blog Stats

    • 717,755 hits
  • Map of Visitors

    Map
  • Meta

  • Facebook Networked Blogs

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

