RESOURCE: Implementing the Disability Rights Treaty, for Users, Survivors of Psychiatry

Posted on 19 March 2008. Filed under: Human Rights, Psychiatric Disabilities, Resources | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

The World Network of Users and Survivors of Psychiatry (WNUSP) has released a manual that can guide users in implementing the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), with people who have used or survived psychiatry.

People with all types of disabilities may experience human rights violations at one time or another. People who have used or survived psychiatric services, however, may be particular targets for certain types of violations. For example, they may be more commonly denied the right to make their own choices about accepting or refusing medical care or entering the hospital. They may be required to take certain drugs or submit to other treatments even if they hold the strong opinion that the potentially harmful side effects outweigh the benefits.

WNUSP’s implementation manual highlights aspects of the interational disability rights treaty (CRPD) that are particularly relevant to users and survivors of psychiatry. These include the areas of legal capacity, liberty, right to live in the community, freedom from forced psychiatric interventions, and the right to participate in enforcing the CRPD.

The manual also explains relevant terminology. For example, the CRPD uses the term “people with mental impairments” to refer to people with mental health problems, or who have mental disabilities, or who have used or survived psychiatry. This term was chosen with WNUSP’s agreement during the process of negotiating the international disability rights treaty. However, WNUSP prefers the use of the phrase “psychosocial disability.”

WNUSP’s manual explains and summarizes each article of the CRPD, with particular attention to its relevance for people with psychosocial disabilities. The manual also makes recommendations for how to address common concerns that governments and others may express about certain aspects of the CRPD as they apply to people with psychosocial disabilities. It describes an array of alternate approaches to healing, treatment, or supporting people in making and expressing their own choices that have been used in various countries. The manual ends with an explanation of how user/survivor organizations can be involved with monitoring the implementation of the CRPD.

Learn more about WNUSP’s implementation manual for the CRPD, or download it in Word format (289 Kb), at:

http://www.wnusp.net/UnitedNations_MMtmp03630c55/UnitedNationsConventionfortheRightsofPersonswithDisabilities.htm



We Can Do first learned about WNUSP’s implementation manual for the CRPD via the Disabled People’s International email newsletter. Further detail was obtained from the manual itself.

Subscribe to We Can Do
Learn how to receive an email alert when new material is posted at We Can Do (wecando.wordpress.com).

We Can Do Copyright
This blog post is copyrighted to We Can Do (wecando.wordpress.com). Currently, only two web sites have on-going permission to syndicate (re-post) We Can Do blog posts in full: BlogAfrica.com and www.RatifyNow.org. Other sites are most likely plagiarizing this post without permission.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “RESOURCE: Implementing the Disability Rights Treaty, for Users, Survivors of Psychiatry”

RSS Feed for We Can Do Comments RSS Feed

MENTAL HEALTH CONSUMER PROVEDER
I have personal experience with this subject. I was disabled, in treatment and receiving social security for five years. I joined a club house in Newton Massachusetts. After this I found a telemarketing job. A year and six months into this recovery I got a residential counselor working with individuals called mentally retarded. I slept overnight three nights an excellent situation for someone with depression. The agency had tuition reimbursement if you stayed on for a year. I took advantage of this and enrolled in the U Mass Boston Rehab Counseling program. I latter moved into a therapeutic community and worked as a counselor. Because I have dyslexia it took seven years to get my Masters. When I did I took a job with a Program of Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) in central Massachusetts. I was able to advocate for clients and help them with a lot of problems. The psychiatrist and staff were supportive but my LD caused some problems with a clerical person. After four years I moved near Boston to take a better paying job with a PACT in Malden as a Vocational Counselor. The company Tri-City Mental Health Center (TCMHC) was merging with Eliot Community Mental Health (ECMH).
No one new I had a disability when I took the job. The manager saw I had the experience of being on an effectively operated PACT and they offered me an extra week vacation and a large pay increase. After taking the job I saw that clients were not getting services they needed like help with housing and jobs. I raised these concerns with Aaron Katz the program director but the response I got was that I shouldn’t bring up such issues. Soon the work place became hostile and I got the “you aren’t fitting in talk” from management. One manager M Mathews denied she offered me an extra week vacation. Then I got written up and a termination threat for late paper work. Some of the paper work was the program directors responsibility. I advocated for my self and asked for accommodations I am entitled to under the American’s with Disabilities Act. My request was denied by a Katz. But, when a client in crisis did not get help from management in a timely manner after I brought this to the managers attention I got blamed. I filed two grievances with the union but management ignored them.
Soon I was thrown out like the trash. I developed psychiatric symptoms and entered counseling. But I had to go without treatment. ECHS management contested my unemployment claim and refused to pay me for my last two weeks work. Because of all this I lost my health insurance and couldn’t continue taking medications or seeing a therapist, Now, I can not get a good job because I do not have a reference from my last employer. My health problems have not been treated and I am applying for Social Security Disability.
I found management’s main interest was in misleading the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health about how the PACT was operated. Ethical issues were not to be discussed. Dishonesty and hostility were the foundations of management’s practice. They treat counselors like dogs.

Signed,
Dog Meat

Интересно стало, а есть тут кто-то, кто не согласен с автором ? :)


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Ending poverty among and oppression toward disabled people in developing countries.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Help the U.S. Ratify the Disability Treaty!

    Image of an hour glass overlaid on image of the Capitol building in DC. Text says, "Time is running out! Now is the time for the Senate to Act! Ratify the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities! www.disabilitytreaty.org #CRPD

    Learn why the CRPD matters and how to take action at www.disabilitytreaty.org!

  • Subscribe!

  • Bookmark and Share
  • Translate!

  • Connect to Andrea Shettle via Linked In

  • Archives

  • Topic Categories

  • Make WeCanDo Your “Favorite”

  • Stumble Upon It!

    Stumble It! Share this blog with other readers via "Stumble Upon"!
  • Follow We Can Do in Facebook!

  • We Can Do is in the GDRL!

  • Blog Stats

    • 616,853 hits
  • Map of Visitors

    Map
  • Meta

  • Facebook Networked Blogs

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,083 other followers

